Photo courtesy of Elnur_ on Depositphotos.com

I Spent a Day Working for a Scammy “Call Center” and It Was Disgusting

But I was so worried about disappointing the boss I even went to lunch and came back.

Evelyn Martinez
6 min readMay 5, 2023

--

Note from the author: Please enjoy this narration of the story by me. Thanks for listening and reading! It means so much.

When you see those Craigslist ads that say: “Immediate hire! No experience needed” and the job is listed as “Appointment Setting”, you know it’s going to be rough. Also, probably a scam. Young me had no idea about any of this, though. All young me knew is that she had to go get a job, and that she wanted one that was easy enough.

I should’ve also known that something was wrong when I pulled up to the building and it was clearly a pop-up job. All grey walls, no sign out front, and almost zero furniture inside. Though there would’ve been no room to sandwich any of it between the cubicles.

The boss scared me, but only because I wanted to impress him so much. He went through the paces, hemmed-and-hawed over whether I had the…

--

--

Evelyn Martinez

Eviemwrites on Tiktok. Former blackjack dealer. Reader beware — you’re in for a scare!-R.L. Stine.